This is my cookcabulary



Post cleanse

Its been a week and one day since the cleanse officially ended and I think things are going well. I haven’t gained any of the weight back, so any concerns about that are now gone, but I do wonder if that’s due to nursing? I won’t be able to determine that until September when we start to wean Cambria.

My food for the last week started out super simple. Lots of fruit, pure bars, smoothies, salads and cooked veggies. The only meat we ate was chicken and it surprisingly didn’t bother my body – aka digestive track ;). It was fun cooking again! And i enjoyed thinking of new things to make like stuffed peppers or sauteed kale (which is delicious)! What did bother me were candied pecans and croutons on my spinich salad I had Wednesday. I went out to eat with some friends and didn’t think too much of it. I think the sugar and butter is what made me feel sick. It passed rather quickly, but the few minutes of cramping and nausea weren’t enjoyable. As the week went on I was more brave with my food selections. I tried those chocolate chip muffins I had in the freezer, they didn’t even taste all that good to me and made me feel gross! Amazing how my taste buds have changed.

So what have I discovered? Meat is agreeing with my body (have yet to introduce fish and red meat), but processed foods aren’t.  And I’m defaulting to vegetarian tendencies throughout the day until dinner. But going to the grocery store has me confused. Once I get all my fresh produce I really begin to read labels and bypass a lot of food I used to eat! Its like I’m lost in a place I used to feel so at home in. I know I’m just adjusting to all this new food knowledge but I really need to get my grocery game back!

The real test for us was this past  weekend – mother’s day. I had everyone over to my house for a BBQ. We made kosher hot dogs for those that wanted them, but the main dish was chicken skewers.  I loaded up bell peppers, red onions and chicken in a wonderful spicy rub and threw it all on the grill. I also grilled some asparugus and broccoli in a little balsamic vinegar. My mom brought fruit salad and my sister in law shared her coleslaw. The coleslaw was so good! Probably because of all the sugar, ha, but I only had a little. ;) For dessert I made a super simple gluten and dairy free strawberry shortcake. Instead of sugar I used honey, and substituted in almond milk and a soy based buttery spread. They weren’t delicious…the gluten free flour was a bit heavy, but served with strawberries and vegan ice cream it was tolerable! What was hard for me was portion control. Everything tastes so much better to me now that I want more more more! But I remember how little we ate at each meal on the cleanse and that helps me.

Then yesterday we went to Stir Crazy, Asian food. I did the market fresh bar where you pick your own veggies and sauce then they cook it on woks right in front of you. I also got free dessert for being a mother – which I couldn’t pass up! Ice cream rolled in fortune cookies and deep fried. Haha, pure gluttony right there! I ate everything, and after I realized how obsurd the portions in America are! During the cleanse there weren’t many days I needed to snack out of starvation (I did have a few tough days) and it amazed me this past week how unsatisfied I’ve been after eating. Once again, I’m in awe at how well my body adapted and used all the nutrients in the raw food to fuel me.

To sum it all up – I feel, overall, worse than I felt during those 21 days. I will continue to refrain from sugar and overly processed foods and hope to find a good balance to keep me satisfied, healthy, and in control.

Off to make our meatless Monday meal!

image
image

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Alexis says:

    I lied…we did have Ham as one of our first meats. I had been craving it since Easter!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

