This is my cookcabulary



Kale will kill you, not literally though.

When does the good food happen!? You all probably think I’m a big baby with all this complaining but I guarantee half of you would cringe at all this food! There is a light though at the end of my immediate tunnel, haha. Tomorrow I get to have apple pie for dinner. Not one avocado will be consumed!!!!

So tonight was kale salsa wraps. Sam was actually home for dinner so we got to eat together. More or less watch eachother take a bite and freak out. At one point we both held our noses as we chewed but Sam choked on his water and I literally thought he was puking!! Yikes….only day two folks.

I’m wondering if half the success of this diet is in how little you are truly eating. I’m trying to up my calories but I bet I’m only getting 1,000! Sigh… now don’t get me wrong, I’m not an idiot and I completely understand fad diets and how they work but im truly doing this to rid my body of all the crap, lose weight, and gain knowledge on a different style of healthy eating. I know for a fact I will not stay raw after this, but maybe one day a week eat raw and incorporate some cooked vegan dishes. I don’t know…eating vegan is so expensive and not condusive with our budget.  I’m totally getting ahead of myself on the outcome. I just need to stay focused on the next meal.

I will tell you this….I will probably never eat avocado after this, ever.

image

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bess Browning says:

    Send all your avocados to me. I just bought 8 at Costco this weekend. love it.

    Kale… not so much.

    Jenn made a great vegan soup for dinner tonight if you want the recipe.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  2. Yeah – kale is so gross raw. Could you substitute collard greens instead? Those make great wraps.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • * Alexis says:

      I’m not sure, they aren’t listed in this diet. Were cleansing this week and I wonder if its chosen because of the nutrient content.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Carrie says:

    Can you eat salt?! Salt makes avacados 100 times better!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • * Alexis says:

      Yes I can! I hadn’t thought to do that… I will keep it in mind for my next avocado meal. Thanks!

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Sheri says:

    Eating vegan will actually be much cheaper than eating meat once you can eat grains and beans. We eat vegetarian 1/2 the week to save on food costs. Mark Bittman’s How to cook Vegetarian is an awesome resource for recipes.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  5. * Glenda says:

    I too disliked raw kale until I found this recipe:
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/aarti-sequeira/massaged-kale-salad-recipe/index.html

    I’m not sure if you can have the honey & EVOO, but even without those two, the mangos, pepitas and salt really make the salad yummy! The lemon juice breaks down the bitterness of the kale. I make this the night before to give the lemon a chance to work it’s magic making the kale tender & much tastier the next day!

    I’m loving your blog! Keep the posts coming & good luck!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

