This is my cookcabulary



Fajita Steak Chili w/ Buttermilk Cornbread

When the weather is still gloomy, wet, and grey, nothing beats the late winter blue more than a homemade stew, soup, or chili. Especially when your husband is about to go into surgery and needs his “last meal”. Yeah, poor guy needed orthoscopic surgery on his knee. I knew he’d be propped up for a while, so I figured I do something nice and make a delish comfort food meal.

I wasnt sure what I wanted to make, but I started google-ing crock pot recipes. With a 5-month old, the crock pot and I are quickly becoming friends. However, the recipes I was finding weren’t really hitting the spot for what I was in the mood for so I just started looking for chilis. Eventually I found this great recipe that called for beef short ribs, which sounded really good! I needed to get the baby more fruit and veggies for food, so off to the store I went. And might I add, this is a great example of asking your local butcher for help. I couldn’t find “short rib tips” so the butcher ended up cutting it off another piece of steak just for me. I had the thought, as I left, that I should’ve paid more attention to what cut of meat he took the short ribs from, so next time I could buy that particular cut knowing it would have more than one purpose. Sure, youuuu may know where it comes from, but I actually don’t know that much about cuts of mean, tsk tsk – I know. I usually leave that up to Sam.

Anyway, here is the recipe adapted from foodnetwork.com – and if you’re on a low fat diet, this would not be the best meal to make … next time, I may just substitute broth to cut on fat.

1 1/4 cups canola oil
2 pounds boneless beef short ribs
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
8 cups low-sodium beef broth
1 small onion, finely diced
1 red or green bell pepper, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons hot chili powder
1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh oregano
3/4 cup all-purpose gluten free flour – I recommend King Arthur!
1 15-ounce can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can sweet corn
2 tablespoons corn starch mixed with equal parts water
Guacamole, sour cream, taco-blend cheese and fried tortilla strips, for garnish

Take 1/4 c. of the oil, and heat in skillet. S&P meat and sear until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes each side. I had about 6 huge chunks of meat, so in order to keep even heat, I only put 3 pieces of meat in the skillet at a time. You could also use a dutch oven. Transfer the cooked meat to another pot, and add the broth. Cook until tender, about 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, heat the remaining oil over medium heat. Add the onion, bell pepper, cumin, chili powder, oregano, flour, 1 tablespoon pepper, and salt to taste. Cook, stirring, until the flour is smooth, 3 to 4 minutes. Remove from the heat and set aside until the meat is done. I, however, could not find the chili powder and ended up using my own chili season blend. While I can remember what all is in the actual mixture, it’s just a combination of chili powder and classic chili flavors, with a lot of heat. So, feel free to use your own seasonings if you have a perfect blend, or just use the chili powder.

When the meat is done, remove from pot and allow to cool slightly and then cut into chunks. Take the reserved pot of vegetables and put over medium-high heat. Slowly add the broth to the vegetables whisking until smooth. Stir in the chopped short ribs and stir until thickened, about 15 minutes. I wanted my chili a little thicker, so I added cornstarch. Feel free to omit this step.

While the beef is cooking away in the broth and you have finished the veggies, go ahead and start on the buttermilk cornbread. Now, I have to say – I don’t think I have ever made cornbread for Sam, and since he’s gone gluten free since 2007, I was super excited to make these for him. You see, we FINALLY found a gluten free all-purpose flour that I have found is able to substitute perfectly for regular all-purpose flour.

They have bread mixes, muffins, cookies, and cakes – and we absolutely love them! I recently made cupcakes out of their chocolate cake mix, and even our friends thought they were good and had seconds :) That is a good sign … sigh – gluten free food has come such a long way. I am just excited for Sam! So, anyway, here is my gluten free version for the cornbread (adapted from allrecipes.com)

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cup gluten free flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Preheat oven to 375° and grease 8″ pan.

    In a large skillet, melt butter and then remove from heat. Stir in sugar. Quickly add in eggs and beat until well blended. Combine the buttermilk and baking soda and pour into mixture. Stir in cornmeal, flour, and salt until well blended and few lumps remain. Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake 30-40 minutes until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. 

    Ladel soup into bowls, garnish with sour cream, cheese, and tortilla strips. Then I don’t know about you – but I love to slather my cornbread in butter and honey. Enjoy!

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    Comments

    1. Mmmm, your chili sounds good!

      Also, I need to try out that GF multi-purpose flour! I still hadn’t found one that substitues well.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago


    Leave a Reply

