This is my cookcabulary



Banana bread!

image

I like to buy my bananas yellow and a tinge green. Once they have a spec of brown I wont touch them. Lucky for me, Sam likes them a little bruised and ripe so we make a great banana eating team! However, Sam was gone this week in MO for work and the bananas just sat on the counter… who’s going to eat the gross browned fruit I thought!? Oh yea, me! ….if I make banana bread with them!

Baking banana bread is really quite simple! You can make variations to it such as substituting zucchini, for example. I had intended on making my gluten free recipe but lucked out! Sam and I went to Saturday market yesterday and he scored some chocolate zucchini muffins from a gluten free vendor. Now that he had his treat, I could have mine! I don’t have anything against baking gluten free and eating it – obviously, but I enjoy gluten! Its just a fact! So, Sam gets muffins and I get bread.

*if you want the gluten free recipe, just email me*

Ingredients:
1/2 c vegetable shortening
1 c sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
3/4 c ripened bananas, mashed
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1-1/4 c flour
Pinch cinnamon
Add nuts if desirable

Preheat oven to 350°
Butter and flour loaf pan
In an electric mixer, combine sugar and shortening. Add eggs one at a time and then vanilla. Combine with bananas. Turn mixer off and scrape sides and blender before adding dry ingredients.
Add baking soda, salt, flour, and cinnamon.
Mixture will be pretty thick and sticky.  Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake one hour (or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean).

I doubled the recipe and it came out just delicious (since I had 3 very ripe bananas)! When loaf is done baking let cool for a bit before removing from pan. Once cooled, slice and eat plain…or smear some butter on it! I like to sample a piece before it cools so the butter melts – oh yum!

Happy banana baking!

Leave a Reply

