This is my cookcabulary



I love lemon!

image

image

My absolute favorite treat to make involves an amazing ingredient: lemon. For years I avoided tarts, bars, and custards for no real reason. It was probably late into my teens that my mom made her home made custard and I.fell.in.love. What was I thinking years before that convinced me not to try this zesty fresh ensemble? I know I’ve blogged before about lemon-y goodness but it never gets old! I did the custard in tartlettes with fresh berries for a work party. And then I am sure Ive posted on the bars my lovely coworkers so often request.

This time around I wanted to make a true tart. Being as I had bought a cute tart pan around Christmas and STILL hadn’t used it! I looked online for a tart recipe and compared it to my bar recipe. The difference was mainly the quantity of the ingredients, but not the ingredients themselves. I didn’t have enough eggs to follow trusty Martha so I decided to just make the bar recipe in a tart pan!

Here’s ‘yo list of ingredients:
12 T butter + 1 T (cold)
1-3/4 cups + 3 T all-purpose flour
2/3 cup confectioners sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
3/4 t salt
4 eggs
1-1/3 cups sugar
1-1/2 t lemon zest (key ingredient here friends)!
2/3 cup fresh lemon juice strained
1/4 cup whole milk

As you can tell – this is not a gluten-free treat unfortunately. :(

I started by buttering my tart pan. I then cut out a circle of parchment paper and placed in the pan. THen buttered again on top of the paper. This may or may not be necessary with a tart but it reallllllly helps when you make bars to pull them out so I would still recommended it.

In a bowl combine 1-3/4 c flour, confectioners sugar, cornstarch, and salt – mix thoroughly. Cut the remaining 12 T of butter into small pieces and combine with flour mixture. Hands work best but you can use a pastry blender or two knives to create a coarse meal. Transfer butter-flour mixture to tart pan and press into an even 1/4″ thick layer. I had leftover and decided to make mini tarts in my small springform pans as well (more for me!!). Refrigerate 30 minutes.

While crust chills, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

While the crust bakes we assemble the filling! Wahoo – the best part!

Combine eggs, sugar, flour and lemon zest.  Now, I LOVE  the tart lemon flavor this dessert represents. So, my teaspoons of zest are heaping. It just makes it perfect! Whisk ingredients until smooth. Then stir in lemon juice and milk with a pinch of salt.

When crust is gorgeous in color and sizzling we add our filling. Reduce oven to 325 degrees, stir mixture one last time, and add to pan! Bake until set – about 20 minutes.

Allow dish to completely cool before cutting to give filling a chance to settle. Feel free to garnish with fresh mint, fruit, or powdered sugar. And next time, maybe substitute the lemon for lime? Have some fun with it. I just love it naked! Mostly because I just want to skip making it look pretty and eat it already!!

This is truly my favortie dessert and hopefully you love it as much as me!

*PS – while I love posting from my phone I have to admit I miss taking good pictures! So, I apologize for the cruddy phone images but oh well! :)

Leave a Reply

