This is my cookcabulary



more flank steak!

image

This summer I have been craving lots of flank steak. As I’ve posted before, I usually just marinade it in soy sauce…but this time I wanted more! I wanted lots-o-flavor; sweet and savory! I went online and found the prefect answer

Grilled Marinated Flank Steak
Marinade:
1/3 c olive oil
2 garlic cloves minced
2 Tblsp red wine vinegar
1/3 c soy sauce
1/4 c honey
1/2 tsp ground pepper
Combine ingredients (it will smell sooooo good!) And place in zip lock bag with meat. I just bought a hefty looking steak, maybe 2 lbs? Place bag in fridge and let it get delicious for about 2 hours or over night.
When ready, place on grill and cook to taste. Flank steak is best served on the rare side. Let sit after grilling to allow juices to flow and cut AGAINST the grain of the meat – on a diagonal.

I served our steak wih fresh corn on the cob. Sam likes to place the corn in foil with a little butterand then grill it. Delicious!

I also made Caesar salad – from scratch. The last time I made this dressing it tasted like pure olive oil – totally gross! I always complained to my mom I couldn’t get it right and over fathers day she taught me – again. So, I attempted it last night on my own. With ingredients like fresh garlic cloves, anchovies, tabasco, and olive oil – this dressing almost never tastes the same so I was a little nervous! I made sure to use 100% olive oil this time instead on EVOO and I would absolutly recommend it! So, into the Cuisinart  the ingredients went and a few minutes later…Caesar dressing!! It worked! I do think there was too much garlic so it was a bit spicy but it worked. I can only get better from here right?? At least this time it was thick and creamy and not runny like oil! But, due to the imperfections (and the fact I never asked my mom if she was OK with it) I won’t be sharing the recipe ;) Some things require a mystery, ha.

Anyway, have some fun with grill and enjoy fresh homemade foods!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * AJ says:

    I had almost the same thing for dinner the other night….wow great minds think alike. I miss you pretty lady but I am glad you are looking well, sounding well adn cooking well. It makes me feel like i am there in your kitchen with you:)

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

