This is my cookcabulary



Flank Steak

We got a bachelor meal my friends! This is so easy, and delicious, there isn’t much to blog about.

Other than the fact that it was over 70 degrees today, and flank steak sounded amazing.

I think I’ve been craving flank steak for about a week, but it just hasn’t been warm enough, or I wasn’t feeling up to cooking (blaming it on the pregnancy), or Sam and I had different schedules. But today, today was the day. I popped into Marsh after work and spotted the perfect flank – told the butcher/meat guy what I wanted, and he happily handed it over. I swear, good weather makes everyone in an awesome mood. Then, I rushed home while making a quick call to my mom to see how she makes hers (as I so often do). 

It’s so easy, a bachelor could do it.

All you need is

  • Flank Steak
  • Soy Sauce
  • Garlic (optional)

Take the steak and place in dish. Pour soy sauce over meat and into dish.  Pour just enough so that the entire bottom of the dish and steak are sitting in soy sauce, add chopped garlic if you so desire.  Let marinade for at least 30 minutes.

Sorry, the image is a little bright.

Then, get your grill HOT! Like 400 degrees hot! Yeah buddy!

Grill each side about 3-4 minutes.  You want to char the outside, but keep the inside nice and red! It’s weird because this is the only meat I will eat this rare.

Let is rest a good 5 minutes before you cut into it. This is a typical rule for all meat.  You want to let it rest after removing it from the heat. While meat is in the oven, the juices are thrown this way and that due to high temperatures. When meat is removed from heat, it continues to cook out while it cools.  This run-off of heat allows the juices to become evenly distributed so each bite has the same amount of juice and tenderness. If you were to cut it right away, some bites may seem more dry than others. Also, make sure your knife is sharp when you cut – no dull knifes allowed! And, speaking of cutting – you will notice flank steak has lots of linear lines running parallel to each other.  When the meat is ready to be cut, take your sharp knife and cut perpendicular to the ‘grain’, but at a slight angle.  This helps so that your bites, and cuts, wont be so chewy!

I plated our flank-deliciousness with a baked potato and salad.

Bring summer on!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. My mouth is watering… ahhhh….

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

