This is my cookcabulary



Mac-N-Cheese and Sloppy Joes

As most everyone knows, we’re expecting! I know, random I start the blog out like that – but I think it explains the lack of my posting the last 12 weeks.  I don’t know if you are aware, but pregnancy does some weird things to you, especially when it comes to food.  Luckily, I havent had to “pray to the porcelain God’s” but I have had bouts of nausea.  In order to suppress that nausea, I had to eat – like every two hours.  Just like one saltine or a pack of fruit snacks, but still.  Then, when I got home, I did NOT want to cook. I know! blasphemy! Alexis didn’t want to cook! It’s absurd really.  Nothing sounded good and the thought of having to take pictures and do my blog-process sounded entirely too daunting. Ugh.

But!

I think I have joined the real world again! It is probably to early to speak, but I am nearing my second trimester and my cravings are wide and my appetite is ravenous.  Food is my priority. Ha! Feels good to be back from the dead, as some call it.  But, I am not sure where that puts me in for the future of my cookcabulary.  Will a child be so consuming I wont blog ….

Nah! Hey, I hear you laughing – stop it!

Anyway, so everyone knows, the blogging will probably be entirely sporadic throughout my pregnancy.  I have no idea what I will crave or what will happen with my appetite, but I will be sure to include you all in my journey.

And we begin with tonight.

I made two dishes! Are you kidding me? Two?!  This is odd for me, I usually make one main dish and then 2 simple simple sides – not tonight! I had foodfuel to buuuuuuuurn. And comfort food was calling my name.

We begin with my version of (gluten-free) macaroni and cheese.

Ingredients:

  • Choice of pasta
  • 8-10 oz shredded cheese of choice (I used Colby and cheddar)
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 1/2 cup ranch dressing
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • Milk
  • Salt and pepper.

PS – this is an Alexis original, holla! As with all pasta, cook in boiling water until tender.  While the pasta is cooking shred your cheese and set aside.  In a medium mixing bowl combine sour cream, ranch dressing, Parmesan cheese, and salt/pepper.  I eye balled everything, but I am guessing on these amounts. Obviously if you like it really really cheesy, add more cheese.  Although the amount I have listed is quite cheeeesy ifidosaysomyself.

When pasta is cooked, drain and pour into mixing bowl.  Add 3/4 of shredded cheese and mix everything thoroughly.  Spread in small 9×9 baking pan. Pour milk over mixture.  Not too much – about 3/4 cup.  Then spread remaining shredded cheese.

Throw in a preheated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes and fogetaboutit! You can also add breadcrumbs to the top, but I wanted total creamy factor to the max here. 

Ok, so while this is cooking, I made my other dish – Sloppy Joes!

This recipe I got from Simply Recipes, but I revised it a bit.

  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 c. minced carrots
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Salt
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 1 can tomato sauce, about 1 cup
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • pinch ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • pinch cayenne pepper
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • hamburger buns

The direction are pretty lengthy, so I am going to have you reference the link above.  I think I’ve been rambling enough in this post! :)

Basically you saute the carrots, onions and garlic – set aside. Then brown the meat and add the veggies back in.  Then add everything else and let simmer for about 10 minutes.

With the hamburger buns, I like to spread a little butter on those bad boys, and pop them in the oven on broil – low until they are golden brown.

Serve and enjoy my friends!

Leave a Reply

