This is my cookcabulary



Gluten Free Lemon and Almond Meltaways

I had dinner last week with my awesome friend Bess – we caught up over antipasto salad and pizza at Bazbeauxs.  This seems to be our spot, as we always tend to schedule dates sporadically.  We never know where to go, but Broadripple is smack dab in the middle, and that dang antipasto salad is always calling our name.  Needless to say we chatted, laughed, and shared stories of the prior weeks since we had last seen each other.  Have I ever mentioned that Bess and I used to be Pen-Pals? Yea! It started when I was in 3rd grade (and living in Oregon) … our dad’s traveled together for work, but we began writing each other . I would send her my Lisa Frank and Sanrio stationary (I was obsessed) and she would write back all the way from good old Shelbyville. So fun. Anyway, this recipe comes from her.  Because she knows me so well, its contains 3 things I love.  1 – Lemon, 2 – Gluten Free, 3 – a totally cute blog I can now follow.

So thanks Bess.  They turned out wonderful, for gluten-free cookies!

Gluten Free Lemon & Almond Meltaways; courtesy of Cannelle et Vanille.

  • 115 grams butter
  • 95 grams powdered sugar
  • zest of 2 lemons
  • 2 Tbs lemon juice
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100 grams sweet rice flour
  • 40 grams cornstarch
  • 35 grams sorghum flour
  • 20 grams amaranth flour
  • 20 grams almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt

As you can see, everything is in grams! At first I freaked out. Wondering how I would pull this off! Then, I realized I have a food scale – duh! I was then really excited – these were exact measurements! If you go online and convert grams to ounces – NONE of the above quantities equal exact amounts. I loved it. You might find that weird, but I understand that baking is a science, and this recipe is exact!

And, surprisingly – I had ALL the ingredients except for one.  I might add that after I seriously went to 6 stores to find sweet rice flour (this was a looooong time ago), it was finally suggested to me by an adorable little vegan guy in dreads and stellar ink to check a chinese grocery. And he was right! So, if you can’t find it at your local grocer, try the Chinese locations.  However, it was over a year ago I was looking to purchase this particular flour and Gluten Free flours have come such a long way I bet it’s around and more convenient. 

I had to go out and buy the amaranth flour – this was actually one I had never heard of. But I called Wild Oats after my local health food store didn’t have it, and it was in stock at Wild Oats. So, I had Sam pick some up on the way home.

Anyway, the recipe is super easy!

Cream butter, powdered sugar and lemon zest in mixer.  Add lemon juice.  Combine all the dry ingredients and add them to the mixer slowly.  Cream until well combined.

Transfer dough to a sheet of parchment paper (I used wax) and shape into a log that has about a 2″ diameter.  Use the paper to tighten the log and form a nice cylinder.  Don’t stress if it isn’t perfect.

Place in fridge for at least 2 hours.

Remove from fridge and cut into 1/4″ thick disks. I then used my spiffy new fluted cutters and salvaged the scraps to put back in the fridge and made even more cookies.  Place these on a baking sheet (it says to line with parchment paper, but I just sprayed with Pam) and bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool.

When they have cooled slightly, and are still warm, dredge the cookies in powdered sugar.

Voila!

 Sam loved them, so thanks again Bess.

Oh, and thanks to those of you who have subscribed to my blog – I actually have “followers”!!!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bess says:

    This is probably my favorite post to date. I’m glad it worked out so well. Maybe I will have to try them too.

    LOVE YOU FRIEND.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Sophie says:

    MMMMMM,..lovely & fabulously looking melt aways!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

