This is my cookcabulary



Chicken and Bacon Cheese Casserole

Last night I was craving a home cooked meal.  Sam and I had a pretty hectic week and we didn’t seem to be getting home until 9 or so in the evenings.  I needed to cook, and bad.

He opted for a casserole, which is fine and dandy – but casseroles are certainly not gluten-free. 

I browsed the internet, thinking of ideas and pondering what meat I wanted to use.  As a Costco member, I bought chicken probably a month ago – and still have like 10 breasts, ha! So, I went with a poultry based meal.

I stumbled upon a fantastic little website that had a million casseroles to choose from. I was already going to convert everything to be gluten-free, but I needed a recipe that didn’t have cream of chicken/mushroom as they contain wheat themselves. I usually don’t have issues converting/omitting/changing things from recipes, but I haven’t tried making a cream of anything gluten-free yet, and removing that ingredient would change the entire dish.

So thank you Southernfood.com, you provided a nice starting point for me to prepare my husband and I a wonderful dish.

Ingredients that you will need:

  • 1 box gluten-free pasta (penne or elbow macaroni) I prefer Schaar.
  • 6-8 slices of bacon
  • 2 tbsp butter
  •  chicken large chicken breasts
  • 2 tbsp pre-made gluten-free flour
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 can chicken broth (low sodium)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 8 oz Cheddar cheese
  • 4 oz Colby jack cheese (feel free to play around with different types of cheese.  I thought about adding jalapeno jack)
  • 1 cup peas
  • 1 cup Corn Flake crumbs (gluten-free alternate to bread crumbs)

We start by boiling water in a medium pot; cook pasta.

Preheat oven as well to 350 degrees and grease a large baking dish (9×13)

It probably helps best to go ahead and cut chicken into small 1″ cubes, or whatever you feel is bite-sized.  I didn’t do this step until the butter and grease were going, but it will help to get it out-of-the-way before you begin.  Make sure to set aside and wash hands completely to avoid contaminating anything with your dirty little chicken fingers. ;)

In a large skillet, cook  bacon until delicious and crispy.  Remove and let sit on paper towel until cooled.  Then crumble bacon into little bite size morsel of heaven.  Refrain from eating! Remove remaining grease from pan, but leave about a tablespoon or so.  Add butter. 

*note, at this point – that little skillet is going to be smelling SO good. Butter and grease, are you kidding me? I felt like Paula Dean on a hot southern summer night! Woo!*

Add chicken and cook over medium-low heat until cooked throughly. 

(After the last few posts and using my work’s camera – these images are a little sad, but at least you get the idea)

Add flour one tablespoon at a time and stir until well blended.  Then, add milk slowly. Continue to cook and stir occasionally until it thickens slightly. 

Gradually add in about half of the chicken broth, and continue to cook a couple minutes.

At this point, the remaining ingredients can all be included.  Salt and pepper to taste and add thyme, cheese, thawed peas, and crumbled bacon.  Then, spoon over cooked pasta (which has been drained and transferred to our greased baking dish)

Look at those GF noodles, you can’t even tell they don’t have wheat!

After youve spooned the mixture over the pasta, go ahead and give it a light stir.  Then, evenly spread bread crumbs on top. Here are the kind I use from Southern Homestyle.

At this point its ready to go in the oven, but it wasnt enough for me.  I added an extra 1/2 cup or so of cheese spread on top, and poured another 1/2 cup or so of the chicken broth. It’s really hard to get that creamy consistency with GF flour, so I wanted to make sure there was enough liquid to keep the dish moist, and not dry out in the oven. So, feel free to add whatever at this point .

Place in oven and cook for about 20-30 minutes, or until topping is golden brown and the casserole is making that oh.so.sweet.you.know.I’m.ready.to.eat bubbly sound.

Serve it up with some greens and a garlic bread stick (I enjoyed the breadstick, I needed SOME gluten ha!).  Enjoy!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jeryl says:

    The Chicken casserole looks so fabulous…. It makes me want to eat!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

