This is my cookcabulary



Whoopie!

Cheers! Hooray! Whoopie!

Of those three words, only one can be consumed.

A whoopie pie my friend.  Before I even get more into this blog can we all agree that Whoopie is super fun to say, and you can’t say it normal. It has to be exciting and playful! Forsuuure.

Ok, so we all know I had an amazing adventure at William Sonoma. What else was I going to make this weekend other than whoopie pies!? I havent a clue myself! So, I knew just the woman that needed to teach me that ways of the whoopie. (Whoa, we’re not makin’ that kind of “whoppie” here guys … don’t be alarmed). But who other than Martha! Martha Stewart, I summon you. Yea.

Oh, and I also went to Joann’s and got some super! cute treat boxes at an excellent price! Score!

I begins with a spatula. And not just any…. my Hello Kitty spatula.  Props to my mom, err, I mean Santa for a most excellent stocking stuffer!

Ok, let us list the ingredients.  Straight from MarthaStewart.com:

For the Cookies:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, not Dutch-process
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed dark-brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • For the Filling:

  • 2/3 cup natural, creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • Coarse salt, optional
  • Make cookies: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt into a small bowl; set aside. Sifting is so towards the top of my list of things I enjoy while baking. I just love how everything combines into a fluffy powder of perfect. I love it.

    Put butter, shortening, and sugars into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on high-speed until smooth, about 3 minutes. Add egg; mix until pale and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Mix in half the flour mixture, then the milk and vanilla. Mix in remaining flour mixture.

    Oh and I also LOVE how perfect packed brown sugar looks – its flawless. Do you ever notice these things … I totally do.

    Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing 2 inches apart. (Or you super cool new whoopie pie baking sheet!!!) Bake until cookies spring back when lightly touched, 12 to 14 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks 10 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks using a spatula; let cool completely.

    Make filling: Put peanut butter and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on high-speed until smooth. Reduce mixer speed to low. Add confectioners’ sugar; mix until combined. Raise speed to high, and mix until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes. Season with salt, if desired.

    Assemble cookies: Spread 1 scant tablespoon filling on the bottom of 1 cookie. Sandwich with another cookie. Repeat with remaining cookies and filling. Cookies can be refrigerated in single layers in airtight containers up to 3 days. Bring to room temperature before serving.

    I made mini ones too, using those new cutters I got as well!!! :)

    Stop it, they’re so cute!

    On a side note, I am seeing an old highschool friend and her new husband tomorrow night.  She lives out in Arizona but is in town for a couple nights – her husband is playing the Pacers tomorrow.  She was sweet enough to call me and ask to get together for dinner, and then take us to the game.  Its been at least 10 years since I have seen her, I cant wait!   I thought a little home-made treat would help her and her husband feel welcome to the Hoosier state! (Hopefully she doesn’t read this before I see her tomorrow night! Oh well if she does ;), it’s something to look forward to and I couldn’t wait to post it!)

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    Comments

    1. * Bess says:

      Martha and a Hello Kitty Spatula… win!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    2. * Brian says:

      Who’s your friend’s husband?

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    3. * Lauren says:

      Lex I seriously can’t stop thinking about licking the paper those little sugars sat on LOL! You have a mean gift girl! I’m definitely borrowing that recipe :) Thank you again…it was so sweet of you to make us a treat.

      Love,
      Lauren

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    4. * Kristen says:

      Whoopie pies!!!! My mom made these in the winter in PA every year when I was a kid. Then she froze them. I was always too impatient to wait until it thawed to eat it. Her’s had a different filling but your (Miss Martha’s) version sounds yummy as well. Whoopie pies are awesome! Whoopie pies FOREVER!!! :)

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago
    5. * teammurray says:

      I was at WS and saw the whoopie pie pan and thought of you!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


    Leave a Reply

