This is my cookcabulary



Key Lime Pie

Tomorrow is Monday, oh Monday. We all return back to our offices, our workstations, or mundane life of the “real world.”  But tomorrow at my office we celebrate a birthday! Betsy (my bobbsey twin) had a birthday on Thursday and with so many people out of the office last week, we waited to celebrate until tomorrow.  This could only mean one thing – I made her something! So, while tomorrow I will get up at 5:45 and arrive at the office by 7, go to a few meetings and do some red-lines, and put in my 10 hours – its will all be worth it because come early afternoon, Im eatin’ some pie! Wooo.

I told Betsy to pick anything she wanted and I would make it.  So, she came up with Key Lime Pie.  Good choice I told her.  I’ve never attempted key lime pie, but I was excited to tackle it! She had a recipe that was like double the crust, but couldn’t find it. So I told her I would find one and just double it myself.  Here is the recipe I followed out of my Better Home Cookbook

We start with the crust (I think I always say that, don’t I?!) Anyway, this recipe calls for pastry crust but I wanted to make graham cracker crust.  So I took about 12 whole graham crackers and put them in my super-cute mini cuisinart and ground them to a beautiful powder. Don’t be shy here – were making crumbs and we don’t want big chunks.  Small morsels are more fun to eat and stay together more when cutting/eating.

This makes about 2 cups of crumbs.  Combine crumbs with a heaping half cup of sugar and a whole stick of melted butter. Yum! Then, take a 9″ pie pan and press crust into pan, making sure to get the edges. I sprayed my pan with Pam beforehand just to be on the safe side. The butter in the crumbs should be enough though.

 Sorry for the awful pictures. I’m working on getting a new camera. And by working I mean constantly reminding Sam that I want one. Ha.

Throw the graham cracker crust in a pre-heated 375 degree oven for 4 minutes. When that 4 minutes hits, your kitchen will smell like sweet.buttery.goodness!

Next we move onto the key lime filling! :) Separate 3 eggs yolks into a bowl, but save the whites for later.  Those will be used in our meringue.

After you’ve beaten the eggs with a fork, pour in the condensed milk and continue to mix.

After that is combined, add your lime juice.  I opted to add fresh lime juice as opposed to the plastic lime things.

Your mixture should have a nice full consistency and a warm yellow color.   You can choose at this point to add green food coloring if you wish.  Go ahead now, pour it in your graham cracker crust.  Did you remember to get it out of the oven?

Bake for 15 minutes at 350.

Now the fun part.  This is where I got a little concerned I would mess up, but I handled myself well I think. Follow these steps and your meringue will turn out just like mine!

In a bowl, beat egg whites, 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar until stiff peaks.  You will know you are there when you pull the beaters out of the egg whites and the peaks curl over towards the beaters.

Then, 1 tbsp. at a time, gently pour in 6 tbsp. of sugar until the mixture becomes glossy and smooth.  The meringue with be done when peaks are formed that stand upright.  Be careful not to add too much sugar at one time, this will ruin it and overbeating will cause sweating. So, be patient. Here’s what it should look like.

One way to make sure its done in addition is you want a creamy SMOOTH mixture.  Taste the meringue on the beaters and if you can feel the sugar granules, it’s not done, beat it a little more.  Also, you want to time everything just right so that when the filling is done, from being in the oven, you have just finished the meringue and can spread it on the hot pie immediately.

Make sure to spread the meringue all the way to the edge of the crust to eliminate any separation while its in the oven.  I just “plopped” the meringue on with a butter knife, and then spread it. 

Time to throw this bad boy in the oven.  Lower the temp to 325 and cook for 15 minutes.

Golden brown – I hope Betsy likes it! I can’t wait to bite into it tomorrow.  I’ll take a pic at the office of the slice and post it later.

Oh, and I ended up getting a LOT of limes and made some Lime-Ade.  It’s super easy!  Take equal amounts sugar and water, to create simply syrup, and heat on stove until sugar is dissolved.  Pour into glass with ice and fresh lime juice. Voila – LimeAde! (P.S. – This totally reminded me of my Aunt and Uncle in Oregon. When we visited this summer she had home-made LimeAde as well and it was yummy! I think hers was much better than mine!)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Brian says:

    Thought you might like to know about this: http://johnmayer.com/blog/permalink/5369

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
    • * Alexis says:

      ooh that does sounds like fun. Although … I know you will cringe – I don’t care for the prize. Yikes, I know! Ha, but thanks for sharing!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Betsy says:

    What a scrumptious b-day treat!!! I have had many a key lime pie in my day and this one is hard to top! Extra crust, nice and tarte.. FAB job Lex!!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

