This is my cookcabulary



Bowden Thanksgiving

As promised, I have lots of pictures to share from Thanksgiving at my parents house!

..and I did end up “making” something.  I think I mentioned I bought cookie dough from my little neighbor next door, yup – that box of sugar came in handy.  I made about 2 dozen Mint Double Chocolate cookies, they were gooooood. 

There were a lot of reasons for me to enjoy Thanksgiving this year, but a big one was that my Aunt and Uncle from Detroit were going to be spending the day with us! Which meant I got to see my cousin! Last time I saw him was at my wedding 2.5 years ago, and that was not quality time, and before that it had been a year at my brother’s wedding.  In any event, the kid is so cute!  He would die if he saw I was writing about him, but it was so nice to see him all grown up! I am sure he is so tired of hearing all about that! He’s 15 now, made the basketball team at school, is almost as tall as me (actually, he might be) and he has a gf! ooooo! Ha.  And the kid can text.  You think your fast – no way.  FastfingerDrew over hear has got you BEAT! Anyway, my point was that it was so nice to spend the day with my family that I truly love – it was such a great night of playing rock band and stuffing our faces!

I started out helping mom in the kitchen! She was a trooper and let me take pics of everything, and even took a few herself.  Here I am helping to perfect the gravy.

Fun fact about my mom: she plans the meal. I mean PLANS! She has a menu, and it corresponds to what bowl the food goes in.  She even sets the table beforehand with the serving-ware.  There is no room for confusion in this kitchen, I love it !

The time was getting close – the potatoes were mashed, the turkey and ham were done. Final preparations for the bread, veggies and salad were to begin …

It was time to get all the food in it appropriate dish!

..and dish up a HEAPING serving of everything.  Let the game begin!

Do you see the Turkey shaped butter? Ha – so cute! 

The food was fantastic! All of it! We had so much fun, passing the bread, making fun of how much food Drew got, laughing at Aurora, telling old stories – all while Sam and I consumed the entire bottle of Martinelli’s sparking cider.  It wasn’t on purpose, we just never passed it around :) good think we bought 4 to bring for the evening, haha.

After we ate and had some quite conversation over coffee and Sam took a nap, we got out rock band.  2 guitars. 1 drummer. 1 singer.  We had “the whole band” as Kimball put it. From there the night just got hilarious. Aurora got on the mic, mom tried to tambourine by clapping her hip and not the mic, batteries died due to excessive playing, and good times were just had by all. It was great.

 *video not uploading, will try again later – maybe* 

I think Aurora can sum up the night in one face …

Ha, she got de-lirious being up 3 hours passed her bedtime! So worth it though.

So I hope everyone else had a great Thanksgiving! I know I am so blessed to have an amazing family, awesome husband, adorable niece, and readers who care (even if it’s a little bit) enough to read my blog.

 

 

*Don’t forget to leave any comments or suggestions of foods you would like to see me attempt! You can comment on the blog or email me @ cookcabularyofalexis@hotmail.com*

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Mom says:

    I so enjoyed reading your blog regarding Thanksgiving. What a blessing to hear your kind comments about my cooking and I can take a few knocks too (thinking tambourine here)
    Loved having the family together and the Rob Bowden’s made it special. Aurora was a hoot!! Send me pictures and vidoes when you get a minute please!
    love you,
    Mom

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago
    • * Alexis says:

      aww mom! your cooking is the best – i can only say great things about it!!

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

