This is my cookcabulary



Italian Salad

It’s Black Friday! Woo. Which really means nothing to me.  Although Sam got up at 3:00 to go find “the perfect deal”.  I just don’t see the sense in waiting in those lines … ok I do see the sense, I will just admit I don’t have the patience.  I prefer staying home and puting up Christmas decorations! Yay.  But today we are actually going to my parents house for Thanksgiving – we had the Ray Thanksgiving last night.

When I get to my mom and dad’s house I will be taking tons of pictures of the food – show you guys the awesomeness that is my mom, and why I know what I know! Last year I made a delicious Chestnut Sausage stuffing form William Sonoma, but this year – not making anything.  I asked mom if she needed help but she had it covered, unless I just HAD to bring something.  Which normally I would’ve, but this week was crazy with work, and I never made it to the grocery store and I didn’t think I could manage finding ingredients today. So, I know some of you are surprised – but I didn’t do anything for Thanksgiving! Ca-razy – I know.  

Anyway, the other weekend we had our infamous girls night! I love girls nights, Me, Katy and all my favorite Ashley’s in one room with food – I LOVE it! Before we made breakfast for dinner, but this go-around we just made good food! I decided to make an italian salad since we were having meatballs and mac-n-cheese.  So, here goes it!

The recipe is simple – lots of veggies:

  • 1 c evoo (extra virgin olive oil)
  • 2/3 cup terragon vinegar
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tsp freshly chopped thyme
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (8oz.) can artichoke hears, drained and quartered
  • 1-2 heads of romaine lettuce, rinsed, dried, and chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4c black olives
  • 2 celery stalks
  • salami
  • cherry tomatoes
  • romano cheese
  • mozzarella cheese
  • ground pepper to taste

We start with the dressing.  This recipe actually makes double, so feel free to cut the dressing ingredients in half, however, i just love this dressing and doubling it makes me feel better. :)

In a medium bowl with a lid, mix oil, tarragon vinegar (yum!), sugar, thyme, dry mustard, and garlic.  Cover, and shake until well blended.  Place artichoke hearts in mixture, cover, and marinade in fridge 3 hours, or overnight.

Now the chopping begins, get ready, because there is A LOT! In a large bowl, combine remaining ingredients!

now the red pepper, and carrots:

…onion,

…celery and salami,

then the tomatoes, and cheeses.  Use more mozzarella more than the romano. I’d say about 1 cup mozz, and 1/2+ cup romano…its really however much cheese you want though.

I pre-made this salad in the morning, so I just let the veggies sit in the fridge while the dressing was marinating.  Then, when I got to A.Adam’s house, I poured the dressing on the top and gave it all a good toss!

…and of course, I didn’t take any pictures of the final product served.  I was way too pumped to talk about Katy’s pregnancy and the movie we were about to watch.

So, as long as you’ve got some time to kill chopping – this is a really simple dish you can pre-make way ahead of time.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

