This is my cookcabulary



Chocolate Blueberry Muffins (and then some chocolate fun!)

We’re skipping the GF bars I made last night and talking about the muffins I made this afternoon! They were really fun.

The husband was off watching the Colt’s game (Go Horse) while I was left at home to do laundry and pick-up.  Really, I’m not complaining – he does his fair share! There’s just something about being confined in a bar/restaurant for an entire game, or more – watching football with guys.  At least when I’m at home I can hop on Facebook or check the weather.  There’s freedom at home.  When you’re at the bar – you are at the mercy of the men you are with. So, that is why I stayed home on this particular day and baked.  (Really that’s all I wanted to do anyway!)

I wanted something that wasn’t too sweet but had a satisfying taste to it – muffins were so the answer.  So get ready, I took a lot of pictures!

Today’s recipe is as follows:

Makes 12 (but i totally got like 22 out of this batter!)

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 oz semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1 c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 c buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2-1/2 cups flour (all-purpose)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 generous cup of blueberries, fresh or thawed frozen
  • 1 oz semi-sweet chocolate, melted, to decorate

Start by pre-heating your oven to a balmy 375 degrees.  Grease 12 deep muffin tins/pans, or use paper liners.

Melt the butter and chocolate in a medium pan over medium to low heat, you dont want to sizzle the chocolate! Stir frequently until smooth

DSCF7418

DSCF7423

When it is all melted together, remove from heat and cool slightly.

Stir in sugar, egg, buttermilk and vanilla into the melted chocolate mixture.

Sugar first: DSCF7430

…then the wet ingredients:

DSCF7419

DSCF7425

DSCF7431

Then gently fold in the dry ingredients (flour and baking soda) Don’t worry about trying to get a smooth batter, you just want to incorporate everything – the lumpier the better.

DSCF7432

…and then gently fold in the blueberries.  You only need to stir the bowl with the berries like 4-5 times – just get the little guys in there!

DSCF7433

 

Now its time to get them in our tins! You can spoon them right in, but we all know what I did ….

DSCF7434

That utensil is hands-down my favorite right now. It’s so awesome! Perfect proportions EVERY time! :) Yay.

Alright, your oven’s warm, your muffins are ready – time to bake! Put them in for about 25-30 mins. But make sure to check them with a skewer or toothpick – mine were done at about 22 minutes! You don’t want to dry out these sweet morsels of greatness! You will want a small crumb left over on your toothpick/skewer when you check on ’em.

While your muffins are baking – its time to melt the chocolate. Although you want to time it perfectly so your chocolate is done when the muffins are. After you melt it, let it cool a bit so we can drizzle our muffins. 

DSCF7446

And I have a fun trick! Take a measuring cup and pop in a sandwich bag, like so:

DSCF7436

When you are ready to decorate the muffins, fill the bag with the chocolate, cut the top off, and you got-yo-self a pastry bag to pipe with! Make sure to cut a small hole, or you will have super huge chocolate streaks … which is what I did. But more chocolate is ok right? Before you start on the muffins, make sure you have taken them OUT of the tin, if you let them cool in the tin, they will get soggy.  So, after you’ve taken them out, have some fun!

DSCF7452DSCF7463DSCF7456

This picture is real bright, but here is one after I cut into it … ha – it’s after I BIT into it! :) You want to see lots of air pockets – this makes it yummy-er.

DSCF7466

And … if you have leftover chocolate in your bag, like I did – and don’t want to waste it, like I did … make some chocolate treats! Sam totally thought I was weird – but I don’t want the chocolate to go to waste!

DSCF7476

DSCF7475

I want to melt chocolate all the time and see what else I come up with – that part was fun!

**I also intended to do some with Mitsch Design, my employer – but turns out I can’t spell and forgot to include the “C” in Mitsch. Ha … I wonder how many people saw that before I took the image down!?**

Have fun, let me know how they turn out!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * David says:

    sam’s so lucky… for a variety of reasons…..

    HOWEVER, the best thing to do to chocolate is melt it and dip bananas and strawberries in it… and then EAT them. =)

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
    • * Alexis says:

      i disagree on the bananas … i prefer strawberries and pineapple in chocolate!

      | Reply Posted 8 years ago
    • * Alexis says:

      …and he’s only lucky half the time – gf remember?

      | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

